Multiple categories within the same facility

  • Wednesday, December 20, 2017 10:41 PM
    Message # 5644833

    Remember back in the 2005 edition, (1) said that "All systems shall comply to Level 1 if any part of the systems are Level 1". Does similar verbage exist anywhere in the 2012? 

  • Friday, December 29, 2017 9:25 PM
    Reply # 5653118 on 5644833

    I didn't see any reference since 2012 is now a risk management document and the code section you reference is the old standard referencing a specific occupancy. The facility authority now designates what is Category 1 or Category 2 patient care within the various areas of their building. Looks like your standard reference has faded with the setting sun my friend. Keep your powder dry.

  • Monday, January 01, 2018 1:28 PM
    Reply # 5654715 on 5644833
    Al Moon (Administrator)

    YES - my point was just that / it's gone from the code:


    So the second part of my questions is !


    In the 2012, 2015 & 2018 Editions of NFPA 99 for Warning Systems  


    We have the requirements in Section # Area Alarms. 


    (1) Anesthetizing Locations ( to me this, looks and reads clearly on what to do)


    But Now, I Ask You Of Part #2 / One at a time for editions 2012, 2015 & 2018.


    (2) 2012 Critical care area

    (For 2012 Critical care area per section # this would = CATEGORY 1 


    (2) 2015 Critical care area

    (For 2015 Critical care area per section #3.3.28 this would = CATEGORY 1  


    (2) 2018 Category 1 space

    (For 2018 Category 1 space per section # this would = CATEGORY 1













  • Friday, January 05, 2018 1:14 PM
    Reply # 5663756 on 5644833

    Are you stating (inferring) the zone valves located in an Acute Care Hospital where no life support will take place are now Category 2 spaces? What difference do that make except for Master Alarm Panels, Medical Air Compressor Systems and Vacuum source systems?

    Please pardon my simplistic response but, I think the zone valve requirements are the same for a Category 2 space as a Category 1 space except the above component. 

    The catch - Category 1 spaces shall not be located in a Category 2 building HENCE we no longer refer to Buildings or rooms but now only spaces!?

    I am getting dizzy with this one.

  • Monday, January 08, 2018 7:21 PM
    Reply # 5668215 on 5644833
    Al Moon (Administrator)

    yes dizzy - sorry:

    read again please / the question is based on the alarm not the zone valve box

    Last modified: Monday, January 08, 2018 7:22 PM | Al Moon (Administrator)
  • Tuesday, January 16, 2018 4:14 PM
    Reply # 5686355 on 5644833

    A hospital can be made up of many different areas that can fall into any one of the 4 categories defined.  The areas that we used to call Critical Care required an area alarm panel for those zones, such as ER, PACU, or ICU.


    The areas we used to call General Care did not require an area alarm panel.  This might have included Radiology, Pre-Op, or Patient Holding. 


    The same holds true for what was called Basic Care and Support rooms in the 2012 edition, 3.3.138.


    This is not nearly as confusing in the 2018 edition, since Category 2 and Category 3 requirements for medical gas piping are very nearly identical.


    In conclusion, not all zones in a hospital will require an area alarm panel if any of them are not considered Category 1.  A hospital is still within their rights to install one on a general patient care wing if they choose to spend the money to do so. 

    Last modified: Tuesday, January 16, 2018 4:16 PM | Corky Bishop
  • Wednesday, January 17, 2018 4:16 PM
    Reply # 5688410 on 5644833

    Ok, I am not at the point of "HELP!  I've fallen and I can't get up!", yet. I am gaining my equilibrium and I need to study a little further before responding.

16339 Kranker Drive, Stilwell, KS 66085